Fellows for 2014 selected

Posted on

The 10 participants for this year’s Balkan Fellowship for Journalistic Excellence have been chosen.

The programme received a record 162 applications for 2014. Many were of a very high standard, making the final choice extremely difficult.

The programme’s selection committee evaluates applications based on the relevance, feasibility and originality of the proposals, as well as the applicants’ professional qualifications, motivation and journalistic approach. The committee is comprised of seven senior media figures from the Balkans and around Europe.

BIRN thanks all the applicants and encourages those who were not successful to consider applying again next year.

Here are the fellows for 2014, listed alphabetically by surname:

  • Jeta Abazi, Kosovo
  • Boryana Dzhambazova, Bulgaria
  • Konstantinos Kallergis, Greece
  • Marija Knežević, Croatia
  • Branko Krivokapić, Montenegro
  • Tanja Matic, Serbia
  • Marija Mitevska, Macedonia
  • Dragana Pećo, Serbia
  • Lina Vdovîi, Romania
  • Krasimir Yankov, Bulgaria